Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was created in 1988 and awarded to Jack McCracken that same year.  

The award is based on contribution to community welfare and betterment; participation in all-around community activities and civic enterprises; evidence of lasting contributions to community welfare; evidence of leadership ability; success in vocation; personal and business progress and cooperation with individuals and organizations.

The award is presented during the chamber’s Annual Membership Banquet and is the highlight of the evening’s events.  

On occasion, an individual leaves this life too soon, and the chamber feels compelled to recognize that individual after the are gone.  In these instances, a Posthumous Distinguished Service Award is presented to the family of that individual.

Special Distinguished Service Awards are also bestowed for special achievements.


Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2021 George “Bly” Blystone

2019 John “Buzz” Walters

2018 Sister Audrey Quinn

2017 Chuck Baily

2016 Gene & Judy Rush

2015 Judge William R. Nalitz

2014 Rev. Dr. Donald P. Wilson

2013 Timothy Hawfield

2012 Jeff McCracken

2011 John E. Mariner

2010 James “Fuzzy” Randolph

2009 Judge H. Terry Grimes

2008 Ivan H. & Adelaide Guesman